About Us

Our Organization

Established in 1967, the Northwest Pennsylvania Regional Planning and Development Commission (Northwest Commission) is an Oil City-based, public, non-profit regional resource for economic and business development as well as community development and planning. 

Funding for the Northwest Commission comes from local, state and federal levels of government.  We are pleased to provide quality services at little or no cost to our clients. 

Our Team

The Northwest Commission is comprised of skilled professionals dedicated to sustaining economic vitality and growth in the Northwest Pennsylvania region by fostering local, state and federal partnerships across public and private sector lines. The Board of Directors represents county governments, private businesses, county planners, tourism and economic development corporations throughout the region. 

Our Services

The Commission offers a variety of programs aimed at supporting both community and economic development in Northwest Pennsylvania.  Those programs include assistance with government contracting, international marketing, business financing, transportation, grant application technical assistance, and municipal services.  

Our Region
The Northwest Commission proudly serves eight counties in the Northwest Pennsylvania region:  Clarion, Crawford, Erie, Forest, Lawrence, Mercer, Venango and Warren.